The Big Wheel. Bruce Thomas.

Second ever book review.  First published in 1990, my copy is 2003.

Mr Thomas adopted an unusual style, by reverting to the other Attractions as ‘Drummer’ and ‘Keyboard Player’ with their bespectacled frontman as the ‘Singer’.

Like Deke Leonard’s book, it pretty much starts with his first tenure with EC. There is a section of growing up on Teesside which had a bit of interest for yours truly. Mr T went to the other grammar school in Stockton-on-Tees (the Rugby Union one, I went to the Football one), although he is a few years older than me.  And I was looking forward to reading his section about his days in The Roadrunners and their initial attempt to crack the bright lights of London. Again, no names mentioned (well, there is but…).

Unfortunately, the description of life on the road in America was almost too literal. Too much description of roads, mountains, telegraph poles, cacti etc. As a music fan , I prefer to read a book about the musical escapades if the book is written by a musician.  So I found myself skimming a lot.

I don’t really think his descriptive style warrants the gushing blurb, but it was OK.   One interesting point is regarding his less-than-complimentary opinions of the other musicians. Back around the time of ‘Watching the Detectives’ we went to see them at the Penthouse in Scarborough, and they were great. We knew one of the doorman, who had tried to engage in conversation with the Bass Player. He asked ‘Haven’t you played here before?’ (which he had with Quiver?).  His smart-arse reply was ‘Was it with Zeppelin?’ .  I think his word for the Bass Player rhymed with ‘tanker’.

A bit too wordy for me.

Comments are closed.